Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Like a star, like a hero

Via Schlagerprofilerna, the BEST news you will read all day is on page 19 of this PDF. Some of the demos to be included on this year's Melodifestival ten-year celebration CD set are:
  • Jessica Andersson's "Jag ljuger så bra"
  • Timoteij's English version of "Kom," "Run"
  • Linda Bengtzing's "Headlines"
  • Backup singer Agnetha Körsvik's "Hero"
  • Fredrik Kempe and Shirley Clamp's "Du och jag mot världen"
  • Sonja Aldén's "Night Of Passion" and "Invincible"
  • Brandsta City Släckers' "En gång för alla"
  • Sarah Dawn Finer's "Not A Sinner Nor A Saint"
If you haven't already preordered this set, you can do so here. It comes out March 4 and includes this year's Melodifestival entries, a book of reminiscences from Christer Björkman, four CDs with classic entries from the past ten years, and the aforementioned disc of Melodifestival demos.

We may only be in the second month of the year, but musical acts are going to have to work pretty hard if they want to beat this release for the title of most exciting CD of the year.


Damian said...

Really interested to hear Sonja's Night Of Passion, Linda's Headlines and Timoteij's Run though I hoped for Erika Selin's version and Måns' Hero but still it looks great and I hope it's just one half of whole tracklist!

Poster Girl said...

Oh, I can't believe I forgot about Erika! That would have been interesting. I'm pleasantly surprised that we're not just getting a bunch of songs sung by demo/session singers (or people who were demo singers at the time they recorded them and not really famous then). It'll be interesting to hear "Night Of Passion" in its non-rock version--I actually really love the Poodles' recording, but I could imagine the chorus transfering well to other genres, too (which is part of why I like the song so much--it's just got a strong melody to it).